The Moody Mind

Standard

I think I am in a writing mood, nay, I am in a writing mood.11429225895_5b5a1f76d4_m

I haven’t been in one in a long time, or maybe more appropriately I’ve been putting my time elsewhere. With spring and summer come social events, the desire to be out and about – 9 o’clock seems early and sleep unnecessary.

Give me fall and winter and what you have on your hands is a bit of a hermit. Some nights I’m bummy and wishing for some fake life or love that doesn’t exist and some nights I want nothing more than to rush home to my fireplace, television, new pillows (mooorreee new pillows, I truly think I have a problem) and get lost in a movie, crockpot, new television show, or a painting. Fall and winter turn me into an ever-elusive introvert and funnily enough cause me to be more tired than ever.

Now I’m an educated soul. I’m sure it’s my hideaway nature and lack of exercise that’s making me more tired. The less you do, the less you want to do. It’s a vicious little chicken and egg cycle. We are too tired to get out (and let’s be honest, I already work full time +), but the less we get out, the more tired we become! What a conundrum….#firstworldproblem if there ever was one.

showimageBut, there are days, and I know I’m not alone; I can’t put my finger on the problem. It’s not life altering, it’s not life-changing, but I’m in a mood. A pensive, lonely, frustrated mood…like you aren’t getting all you should out of life, and yet, that is life. Nobody is ever really alone and the internet just proves it. In the past couple of weeks I can’t tell you the amount of people who have mentioned they are feeling down, stressed, tired, sick, frustrated, annoyed at dating…it’s universal, or perhaps universal when you live in a country with very distinct cold weather patterns. There is a reason that suicide rates are higher in cold countries. No joke.

So, I guess I need to decide whether stressing out about my dirty apartment and unfinished painting is the right way to go, or hitting the gym, hitting the bar and maybe hitting on a boy is the better avenue (I kid, I kid…I would be out for my friends, wink wink). The sad part is, as I sit here and type this, the fact that I can type this or even have a choice in these decisions shows how fortunate my miniscule little life really is.

So on that note, I guess as long as you have a choice you have a life, whether that be hiding away in your loft like a troll or getting dolled up like a princess, there is usually tomorrow and only when there is no tomorrow do your choices cease to exist. So, you make the call…how do you want to spend today?

Every man builds his world in his own image. He has the power to choose, but no power to escape the necessity of choice. – Ayn Rand

The Ginga Ninja

Leave a Reply

