Google Was First

Standard

BirthdayHoly meatballs Batman. Google personalized the Google homepage for me. But, the thing is…of course they didn’t. Not every Tom, Dick & Harry’s Google Page has a picture of cupcakes & sparklers, and definitely not everybody’s is wishing them a personalized Happy Birthday when they hover over it.

So, is this incredibly cool, or incredibly creepy? I for one think that a personalized Google page at the stroke of midnight is a bit big brotherish, even for little old me who uses social media like utensils. This information is either stored on my computer, or they are accessing it through my Gmail. Wait, let me check. Yes, yes it only works when I’m signed into my all-knowing email account.

In a weird way, that makes me feel a tiny bit better. The interweb is only accessing my personal information as long as I’m live signed-in to their sister site. It makes me feel just a wee bit safer to think that the URL or the computer itself doesn’t have a better memory than that of my brother, but still, the mere fact that technology can do this at all is downright eerie.

There is a commercial out right now talking about the next big technological advancement – palm hang ups, holograms or reading brain waves?  But, really, when you think about mini computers in eyeglasses and the entire being that is Stephen Hawking…well, we already have things that operate by eye glances alone. And I don’t mean a gold old-fashioned wink if you catch my drift.

Apparently I am one of the only ones who think it’s downright bone-chilling and a tad unsettling. This little lady thought it was the best thing since sliced bread http://www.pattiwilson.net/blog/google-gave-me-a-birthday-cake-today…but, now we know that modern-day bread isn’t good for you anyways, so perhaps modern-day technology isn’t always either.

I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.                                                                                                                                                                                    – Albert Einstein

Albert-Einstein-and-Quotes-Gold-and-Red_art The Ginga Ninja

 

2 responses »

  1. Mine was yesterday and I noticed my personalized Google Doodle as well…. it is a tad bit unsettling. But then again, I did not hesitate at adding my info to sites such as GooGle+ or Facebook… I suppose I should have anticipated something like this eventually…. Nothing is private on the internet… LoL

  2. Agree whole-heartedly. It’s my fault for providing it. But, egad…just think of all the things that somebody out there knows about us. Try using a data retriever on your cell phone – that’s a surprise 😛

Leave a Reply

