There Goes the Neighbourhood…

Standard

So, no matter what country, city, or abode you live in…there are little things that start to make your neighbourhood...your neighbourhood.  Good and bad, crazy or carefree…after a certain amount of time your neighbourhood does become just that.  And this truly does go for ANYWHERE on earth – from Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills to Khao San Road in Bangkok…some things just start to stick.

I have been in my new pad for around 4 months and I can say that there are already things that I think of with smirk-inducing fondness. We have the worst McDonalds on earth, Mr. Sub around the corner, the toothless Aisan man running the local convenience store, a streetcar within throwing distance for those drunken stumbly nights home…there is always something you begin to connect with and even things you might wish weren’t there, but are all actually part of your new reality.

I for one love all my neighbourhood cats.  There is Scotty Ted, the wide-eyed orange kitten next door who pees in flower pots, perches on my windowsill and scares the bajeezes out of me nightly.  Another favourite is Tom Selleck, a local Oreo-coloured cat who has a white mustache so bushy, I could only think to nickname him after the mustache-master himself, Tom Selleck.  Then there is Tim Selleck, a smaller, shyer, dirtier black and white cat I originally mistook for Tom, so I feel like those of you with a fourth grade education may figure that one out…. Lastly, there is the crazy cat house on the corner that has had no less than 2 and anywhere up to 6 cats (and sometimes a dog) sleeping on the front porch at all times. No, seriously. I find myself inclined to knock on the door one day and ask them just how close to legitimate animal hoarders they really are.

This is not to say all things here are perfect.  For instance, had I known there was an abandoned apartment complex or a halfway house at the end of my street, as a single girl I maaayyy have reconsidered this move, but thus far there seems to be no threat or immediate danger.  I joke that one intersection to my right is one of the newest and richest neighbourhoods in the city, and one interesection to my left is the “all welfare all the time” lucky jackpot corner.  I like to think that I’m right in between the rich and the crazy, sadly enough, probably exactly where I belong!

I long, as does every human being, to be at home wherever I find myself. – Maya Angelou

The Ginga Ninja

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

