A Penny for your Thoughts….

Standard

Let me ask you, do people change?  There are those that say we are who we are and inevitably you will always return to those beliefs.  But, how do we explain new hairdos, weight fluctuations, clothing styles, and last, but certainly not least – food tastes!

If I can’t change, please explain to my why I now as an adult like mustard, mayonnaise, raw fish, cucumber and shockingly, horseradish!

Maybe I’m my same neurotic, artistic, self through every stage of life and others look at me the same.  But I know that deep down through every job, every boyfriend, every new city, every good book…a little bit of me evolves.  Or one could argue that maybe I am just being introduced to new things that I never knew I liked in the first place…(I would normally play devil’s advocate and fight for this one), but hey, seriously, how then do you explain the mayonnaise thing?

I for one am happy to at my core stay fundamentally me, good and bad, but enjoy and choose new things as life progresses.  This is especially true of men, not just for me, but for most women. That juvenile delinquent who carved letters in his arm in highschool is just not looking quite as attractive as he once did…maybe it’s the parole officer, maybe it’s the drug dealer, but I’ll now take my safe and secure nerds any day.

So even if I can’t ultimately change, my tastes certainly can….

I was going to leave you with a quote from one of my favourite authors, Jodi Picoult, but it was getting a bit deep so I’ll leave you with this instead.

“If you’re in a bad situation, don’t worry, it’ll change. If you’re in a good situation, don’t worry, it’ll change.”  –  John. A Simone Sr.

Keep rolling with those punches.

The Ginga Ninja

Leave a Reply

